72. Tour de Pologne in Katowice: Pelucchi took Spodek

Matteo Pelucchi (IAM Cycling) won the finish line of the third stage of the peloton 72. Tour de Pologne UCI World Tour from Zawiercie to Katowice. The leader of the general classification of the race remained Marcel Kittel (Team Giant-Alpecin).

Before the start, Marcel Kittel said that they have the yellow jersey and they want to defend and fight for the stage. Four years ago, he won four stages in Poland, this year he triumphed in Warsaw and finished second in the Dąbrowa Górnicza. Katowice was a challenge for him for another reason. In 2011, he finished with breakneck speed of 78 km/h. A year ago he won here with Belgian Jonas van Genechten, and the speed counter showed 81 km/h. This works on the imagination of fans and players.

A thousands of supporters gathered in an atmosphere of cycling holidays at the start of the third stage in Zawiercie. On the route, a small group fairly quickly broke away from the pack. Three Poles – Kamil Gradek and Marcin Bialoblocki of the Polish National Team and Adrian Kurek of CCC Polkowice Sprandi worked their way out. It is the riders in white and red shirts which shared the victories at Lotto Intermediate Sprints. Białobłocki won in Chorzów and Siemianowice Śląskie, and Gradek in Piekary Śląskie. Białobłocki added a bonus in Tarnowskie Góry. Escape also maintained the advantage in the early rounds in Katowice. The first Tauron climber bonus won Kurek, and Białobłocki decided for a lone attack soon later. Polish champion in individual time trial at an impressive rate sped toward the finish line at an amazing applause of thousands of fans. He grabbed a second mountain bonus and entered the final round with almost 50 seconds of advantage. The strength of the pack, however, was huge and a few kilometers before the finish the main group absorbed the runner.

As tradition dictates, the strongest sprinters fought for victory at the Korfantego alley near Spodek in Katowice. This time Kittel had to settle for seventh place and Matteo Pelucchi won for the second time in a row in this year’s race. Second place on the podium took Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek Factory Racing), and the third was Tom Van Asbroeck (LottoNL-Jumbo). The high, eighth place went to Paul Franczak of the Polish National Team. The leader of the Skandia general classification remained Kittel, Nizzolo was promoted to second place, and the third was taken by Caleb Ewan (Orica GreenEdge). On the conduct of the Tauron mountains classification Adrian Kurek strengthened his position, and a Lotto t-shirt won the most active rider – Marcin Białobłocki. In the sprint classification Lang Team leads Kittel and in Lotus bonus for the highest classified Pole is Michał Kwiatkowski. The best team is at the moment LottoNL-jumbo.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.